A Tables Have Turned


When I was younger, my mother wouldsay “A son is a son until he takes a wife, a daughter is a daughter for the rest of her life” when I was younger I didn’t know what that meant as in grew older I found this old adage to be a bit true. My son calls me every day to discuss his day and ask how mine was (I have to say he may even sometimes phones twice a day) My daughter  on the other hand will call and stop by my home every day. Ask about my day tell me about her and always ask if I need anything at the store (even  though I drive and have a car) Why so many phone calls you may wonder!  First of all, I’m on vacation. Second of all they are very worried about me something I don’t want to go into right now. And lastly I truly feel that the tables have turned at times!  Suddenly, I have become the child (not really though ) and they have taken on the role as adult. I am still their mother, I worry about them I call them I ask about them.

But when I ask where they’re going they usually give me the answer “out” when they ask where I’m going I say “out” but they want to know where and what time I’ll be back , who I’m going, Who is driving?  These were all the questions I asked them when they were younger now you’re asking me the same questions!  I am very fortunate my son and daughter are my two rocks!  They are both gems andthey’re both special!  They are the most special people to me on the earth! I love them both with all my heart and soul I am truly blessed to have as my children!

Leave a Reply

